The Croak: A Flash Fiction

Crow & Cross Keys is the home of beautifully eerie writing. I am so pleased that my flash fiction The Croak found such a wonderful lit mag to roost and settle in!

I have an especial love of corvids and I’m lucky enough to live in Orkney which is home to many a rook, hooded crow, jackdaw and raven. I often see crows gather, sitting dignified on a fencepost each, and to me they look canny – or rather uncanny. So I wrote the story of The Croak to try and tap into their black-feathered secrets…

Read The Croak.

A quote of flash fiction 'The Croak' by Ellen Forkin. There is a black and white photo of a crow on a fencepost.
A quote from Ellen Forkin’s The Croak on Crow and Cross Keys

Crow & Cross Keys share new pieces of work – from flash fiction to stories to poetry – every Wednesday and Saturday. You can follow them on Twitter @CrowKeys. Fill up your timeline with some hauntingly beautiful writing!

So the next time you see a corvid, stop, wonder and say hello… or maybe just leave her be.

Ellen x

One thought on “The Croak: A Flash Fiction

Leave a comment